GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES

Thursday, September 19, 2013 Wingo 315 1:40 p.m.

The Graduate Council met on September 19, 2013. The following members participated: Jeff Allender, Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Noel Campbell, Ben Cash, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, R. B. Lenin, Gary McCullough, Letha Mosley, Vamsi Paruchuri, Scott Payne, Tammy Rogers, Nina Roofe, Michael Schaefer, and Barbara Williams. Members absent were Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, and Mark McMurtrey.

Action Items:

- 1. Graduate Council Minutes of June 27, 2013 were approved.
- 2. Dr. Jane Dahlenburg was elected secretary for the Graduate Council for 2013-2014.
- 3. Dr. Gary McCullough requested council members submit recommendations for a student representative to the council.
- 4. The following were appointed to the UAMS/UALR/UCA Joint Graduate Council: Ben Cash, Janet Filer, Terry James, and Barbara Williams.
- 5. The following were appointed to the McLauchlin Scholarship Review Committee: Bruce Hutchison, Terry James, Letha Mosley, and Nina Roofe.
- 6. The following were appointed to the Graduate Council Policy Subcommittee: Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Vamsi Paruchuri, and Scott Payne.

<u>Information Items:</u>

- 1. Dr. McCullough reviewed the assignment of subcommittees.
- 2. Dr. McCullough initiated discussions regarding general Graduate School policies. Policies which Dr. McCullough would like review this year include:
 - a. Graduate Bulletin
 - b. Graduate School admission requirements
 - i. Conditional admission (GRE and TOEFL)
 - ii. Contingent admission
 - iii. Application deadlines
 - c. X grades
 - i. PR/CR(?CP) grade mode
 - d. Transfer credits for graduate programs
 - e. Certificate programs
 - i. Course substitutions
 - ii. Probation/Suspension
 - f. Graduate Assistants- Procedures and Guidelines Manual
 - i. Tuition Scholarships
- 3. Graduate Faculty Appointments
 - a. Dr. Rifat Akhter, SOC, affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - b. Ms. Danielle Archie, HSCI, affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - c. Dr. Jennifer Brinegar, PSYC, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - d. Dr. Darla Cathcart, PTHY, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)

- e. Dr. Sherrye Craig, PTHY, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- f. Dr. Lisa McNair, PSYC, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- g. Dr. Mitchum Parker, KPED, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- h. Dr. John Parrack, WLAN, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
- i. Ms. Sherrie Ray-Treviño, WLAN, initial associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- j. Dr. Travis Sorenson, WLAN, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
- k. Ms. Heather White, NURS, initial affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)

Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be Tuesday, October 22, 2013 in Wingo 315.

.