GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES

Thursday, November 21, 2013 Wingo 315 1:40 p.m.

The Graduate Council met on November 21, 2013. The following members participated: Jeff Allender, Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Noel Campbell, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, Gary McCullough, Forrest McDougal, Letha Mosley, Tammy Rogers, Nina Roofe, Michael Schaefer, Terry Singh, and Barbara Williams. Members absent were Ben Cash, R. B. Lenin, Mark McMurtrey, Vamsi Paruchuri, Scott Payne, and Stephanie San.

Action Items:

- 1. Graduate Council Minutes of October 22, 2013 were approved.
- 2. Subcommittee II, Kenneth Barnes, Chair, recommended approval of a new MA in English, Language Arts track.
 - Vote to approve was unanimous.
- 3. Subcommittee I, Letha Mosley, Chair, recommended approval of two distinct tracks in the MS in School Counseling program
 - a. Initial Licensure 48 hours
 - b. Add-on Licensure 48 hours

The subcommittee also recommended approval of the changes to the admission, retention and graduation requirements for the two tracks in the MS in School Counseling program.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

Information Items:

- 1. Deletion of P-4 Early Childhood Track in the Master of Arts in Teaching
- 2. ENGL 6365 course description change
- 3. Dr. McCullough lead a discussion regarding the procedures and timeline for addressing the 660 outstanding X grades from more than one year ago.
- 4. Graduate Faculty Appointments
 - a. Dr. Candice Barnes, ECSE, Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - b. Dr. Kathryn Bayles, CSD, Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - c. Ms. Mara Cawein, T & L, associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - d. Ms. Debbie Dailey, T & L, associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - e. Dr. Shoudong Feng, ECSE, Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - f. Dr. Shelley Handcock, T &L, Graduate Faculty (3years)
 - g. Ms. Christy Hogan, T & L, associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - h. Dr. Adam Frank, HONC, affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - i. Dr. Rachelle Miller, T & L, Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - j. Ms. Lisa Mongno, LEAD, affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - k. Ms. Amy Thompson, T & L, affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - 1. Ms. Crystal Voegele, T & L, associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - m. Dr. Donna Wake, T & L, Graduate Faculty (8 years)

Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be Tuesday, December 5th, 2013 in Wingo 315.