GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, April 18, 2013 Wingo 315 1:40 p.m.

The Graduate Council met on April 18, 2013. The following members participated: Noel Campbell, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, Elaine McNiece, Letha Mosley, Scott Payne, Tammy Rogers, Wayne Stengel, and Barbara Williams. Kenneth Barnes, Gary Bunn, Rick Noyes, Vamsi Paruchuri and Nina Roofe voted by proxy. Members absent were Wes Garrett, Damon Jackson, Mark McMurtrey and Brooks Pearson.

Action Items:

- 1. Graduate Council Minutes of March 14, 2013 were approved.
- 2. Subcommittee II, Dr. Ramesh Garimella, Chair, recommended approval of five new course proposals with conditions as indicated:
 - a. BIOL 5412 Organisms in Extreme Environments submit list of references
 - b. SPAN 6397 Topics in Advanced Spanish Linguistics
 - c. MBA 5332 Investments
 - d. MBA 5376 Entrepreneurial and Small Business Finance
 - e. MBA 5345 Governance of Sustainable Organizations submit rewording of course learning objectives

Vote to approve the revised course proposals was unanimous.

- 3. Subcommittee I, Dr. Tammy Rogers, Chair, recommended approval of changes in program course requirements as follows:
 - a. (PhD) School Psychology addition of PSYC 6350 History and Systems of Psychology
 - b. (MS) School Psychology addition of PSYC 6355 Multicultural Issues in Counseling
 - c. (Post-Masters Cert.) School Psychology addition of PSYC 6356 Group Psychotherapy

Vote to approve was unanimous.

4. Subcommittee I, Tammy Rogers, Chair, recommended approval to combine current programs in Community Counseling (MS) and Counseling Psychology (MS) into one program with new name: Mental Health Counseling (MS)

Vote to approve was unanimous.

5. Subcommittee I, Tammy Rogers, Chair, recommended approval of change in grading policy for the MS in Mental Health Counseling to require a grade of B or better in all 60 semester credit hours of the program for the degree to be awarded to be consistent with requirements for licensure.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

- 6. Subcommittee III, Terry James, Chair, recommended approval to accept the Chinese National Postgraduate Entrance Exam (NPEE) to meet the admission requirement for the MBA program. *Vote to approve was unanimous.*
- 7. Subcommittee III, Terry James, Chair, recommended approval of a change in the Doctorate of Nursing Practice entrance requirement to an iBT TOEFL exam score of 83 or higher.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

8. Subcommittee III, Terry James, Chair recommended approval to remove admission requirement of undergraduate statistics course for Doctorate of Nursing Practice.

Vote to approve was unanimous.

Information Items:

- 1. Change from required course to an elective
 - a. (PhD) School Psychology PSYC 7330 Research and Grant Writing
 - b. (PMC) School Psychology PSYC 7310 Emotional and Behavioral Assessment
- 2. Course Conversion to Electronic Delivery
 - a. MBA 6301 Decision Modeling in Information Systems
- 3. Change in course descriptions
 - a. CED 6301 Project management
 - b. CED 6116-6316 Research Project
 - c. LING 5310 Educational Linguistics (includes a course title change)
- 4. Editorial changes in Graduate Bulletin for Advanced Studies in Teacher Leadership (ASTL) M.S.E., including addition of the Gifted and Talented track.
- 5. Graduate Faculty Appointments:
 - a. Mr. Daniel Barrington, ECSE, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - b. Dr. W. Todd Cade, PTHY, initial Affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - c. Dr. Patrick Carmack, MATH, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - d. Mr. Ryan Caststeel, MBA, initial Affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - e. Dr. Alexander Chen, MKT/MGNT, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - f. Dr. Bernard Chen, CSCI, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - g. Dr. Sinan Kockara, CSCI, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - h. Dr. Long Le, MATH, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - i. Dr. David McCalman, MKT/MGNT, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - j. Dr. Amy McMillan, PTHY initial Affiliated Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - k. Mr. Anthony McMullen, ACCT, continued Associate Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - 1. Dr. Leslie Rose, MUSIC, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - m. Dr. Tammy Rogers, EFIRM, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - n. Ms. Veronica Rowe, OTHY, continued Associate Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - o. Dr. Paul Young, CSCI, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - p. Dr. Steven Zeltmann, MIS, continued Graduate Faculty (3 years)

Announcements:

Announcement of establishment of PR, CR, and NC grading scale for thesis, dissertation and other continuous enrollment courses.

Announcement of McLauchlin Scholarship Winners – Letha Mosley

Awarded to Carly Hood and Holly Franchett. Alternate: Courtney Barnhill In order to provide guidance to the selection committee, Dr. Mosley will submit a rubric for evaluating and rating applicants for consideration by the Graduate Council and Barbara McLauchlin.

Dr. Elaine McNiece, Chair of the Graduate Council, announced her retirement from the university effective June 30, 2013.

The next meeting of the Graduate Council will be June 27, 2013 in Wingo 315.