GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES

Thursday, October 18, 2012 Wingo 315 1:40 p.m.

The Graduate Council met electronically on October 18 2012. The following members participated: Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Noel Campbell, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Wes Garrett, Bruce Hutchinson, Damond Jackson, Terry James, Elaine McNiece, Mark McMurtrey, Letha Mosley, Susan Moss-Logan, Rick Noyes, Scott Payne, Brooks Pearson, Tammy Rogers, Wayne Stengel, and Barbara Williams. Not participating: Vamsi Paruchuri.

Action Items:

- I. Graduate Council Minutes of September 20, 2012 were approved.
- II. Subcommittee I, Dr. Tammy Rogers, Chair, recommended approval of the Doctorate of Nursing Practice program, including approval for new courses:
 - A. NURS 7220 DNP Capstone Project I
 - B. NURS 7225 DNP Capstone Project II
 - C. NURS 7310 Philosophical and Theoretical Foundations for Advance Nursing Practice
 - D. NURS 7320 Health Economics and Finance
 - E. NURS 7330 Advanced Healthcare Informatics
 - F. NURS 7340 Leadership and Organizational Systems
 - G. NURS 7350 Translational Research Methods
 - H. NURS 7360 Population Health and Public Policy
 - I. NURS 7370 Applied Clinical Genetics and Genomics
 - J. NURS 7410 Clinical Internship I
 - K. NURS 7415 Clinical Internship II

Program and courses were approved unanimously.

Information Items:

- I. Graduate Faculty Appointments:
 - Ms. Audra Alumbaugh, Teaching and Learning, initial Associate Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Amy Amy, Communication, initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Alicia Cotabish, Teaching and Learning, initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Chris Craun, History, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - Dr. Lorien Foote, History, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - Dr. Alexandra Marshall, Health Sciences, initial Graduate Faculty (3 years)
 - Dr. Story Matkin-Rawn, History, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - Dr. David O'Hara, History, continued Graduate Faculty (8 years)
 - Ms. Sarah A. Thornton, Nursing, continued Associate Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Sonia Toudji, History, initial Graduate Faculty (three years)

Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be November 15, 2012 in Wingo 315.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane Dahlenburg Secretary