GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, September 20, 2012 Wingo 315 1:00 p.m.

The Graduate Council met on September, 2012. The following members participated: Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Noel Campbell, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, Elaine McNiece, Letha Mosley, Rick Noyes, Vamsi Paruchuri, Scott Payne, Brooks Pearson, and Tammy Rogers.

Members absent were Wayne Stengel.. Mark McMurtrey, Susan Moss-Logan, and Barbara Williams voted by proxy.

Action Items:

- I. Graduate Council Minutes of June 28, 2012 were approved with two abstentions.
- II. Dr. Jane Dahlenburg was elected secretary for the Graduate Council for 2012-2013.
- III. Dr. Brooks Pearson recommended Wes Garrett for the graduate student representative to the council. The recommendation was approved unanimously.
- IV. The following were appointed to the UAMS/UALR/UCA Joint Graduate Council: Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Terry James, and Barbara Williams.
- V. The following were appointed to the McLauchlin Scholarship Review Committee: Bruce Hutchison, Letha Mosley, and Susan Moss-Logan.
- VI. The following were appointed to the Graduate Council Policy Subcommittee: Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Vamsi Paruchuri, and Scott Payne.
- VII. Dr. McNiece reviewed the assignment of subcommittees, Graduate Council charge and responsibilities, and provided a description of the review process.
- VIII. Subcommittee II (Susan Moss-Logan, Chair) recommended approval of the 2011-2012 Graduate Council Annual Report to Faculty Senate.

Dr. McNiece addressed questions from the Council. The motion to approve was unanimous.

IX. Subcommittee III (Dr. Terry James, Chair) recommended approval the new course, MBA 6382 Internship in Business.

The item was approved unanimously.

X. Subcommittee I (Dr. Tammy Rogers, Chair) recommended approval to adopt the new ADE state recommendations for the GRE minimum scores to substitute for the Praxis I. The new state recommendations are Verbal (142), Quantitative (142), and Writing (3.5).

The item was approved unanimously.

Information Items:

I. Deletion of Graduate Certificate in Diverse Literature

- II. Review of M.A. in English
- III. Announcement of McLauchlin Scholarship winners: Sarah Beall and Kendra Anderson. Recipients were selected by the McLauchlin Scholarship Review Committee members: Janet Filer, Terry James, and Susan Moss-Logan.
- IV. Graduate Faculty Appointments:
 Dr. Susan Barclay, Leadership Studies, initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 Dr. Rhonda McClellan, Leadership PhD, initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 Dr. Michael Rosenow, History, continued Graduate Faculty (eight years)

Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be October 18, 2012 in Wingo 315.

Respectfully submitted,

Jane Dahlenburg Secretary