## GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, February 16, 2012

The Graduate Council meeting was conducted electronically February 16, 2012. The following members participated: Wes Alford, Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, Jeff Jarvis, Paul Jensen, Mark McMurtrey, Elaine McNiece, Susan Moss-Logan, Rick Noyes, Sarah Orsborn, Vamsi Paruchuri, Brooks Pearson, Tammy Rogers, Joan Simon, Wayne Stengel, and Barbara Williams.

## **Action Items:**

- I. Graduate Council Minutes of November 17, 2011 were *approved unanimously*.
- II. Subcommittee II (Dr. Ramesh Garimella, Chair) recommended approval of the following new courses:
  - a. NUTR 5325 Medical Nutrition Therapy I
  - b. NUTR 5374 Medical Nutrition Therapy II

Both courses were approved unanimously as revised based on requests from Subcommittee II.

## **Information Items:**

- I. Course deletions:
  - a. CHEM 5290 Chemical Literature
- II. Graduate Faculty Appointments:
  - Dr. Peter Mehl, Philosophy & Religion, Continued Graduate Faculty (eight years)
  - Dr. Mary Harlan, Family & Consumer Sciences, Continued Graduate Faculty (eight years)
  - Dr. James Guinee, Family & Consumer Sciences, Continued Associate Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Renee Ryburn, Family & Consumer Sciences, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Nina Roofe, Family & Consumer Sciences, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Lisa Ritchie, Family & Consumer Sciences, Continued Associate Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Debra Head, Family & Consumer Sciences, Continued Associate Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Terri Rine, Family & Consumer Sciences, Initial Associate Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Jamie Alea, Teaching & Learning, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Michael Mills, Teaching & Learning, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
  - Dr. Melissa Shock, Family & Consumer Sciences, Continued Graduate Faculty (eight years)

## Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be March 15, 2012, X period, in Wingo 315.

Respectfully Submitted, Jane Dahlenburg Secretary