GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Thursday, September 15, 2011

The Graduate Council met on September 15, 2011. The following members participated: Wes Alford, Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Terry James, Paul Jensen, Mark McMurtrey, Susan Moss-Logan, Sarah Orsborn, Vamsi Paruchurci, Brooks Pearson, Tammy Rogers, and Elaine McNiece. Members absent were Bruce Hutchinson, Jeff Jarvis, Rick Noyes, Joan Simon, Wayne Stengel, and Barbara Williams.

Action Items:

- I. Graduate Council Minutes from July 7, 2011 were **approved unanimously.**
- II. Dr. Jane Dahlenburg was elected secretary for the Graduate Council for 2011-12.
- III. The following were appointed to the UAMS/UALR/UCA Joint Graduate Council: Janet Filer, Terry James, Joan Simon, and Barbara Williams.
- IV. The following were appointed to the McLauchlin Scholarship Review Committee: Janet Filer, Susan Moss-Logan, and Brooks Pearson.
- V. The following were appointed to the Graduate Council Policy Subcommittee: Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Terry James, and Vamsi Paruchuri.
- VI. Dr. McNiece distributed the assignment of subcommittees (attached), read the Graduate Council charge and responsibilities, and provided a description of the review process.
- VII. Dr. McNiece presented the 2011-2012 Graduate Council Annual Report to the Faculty Senate for approval. Following questions and recommendations for review of some discrepancies in the productivity report, the reports were approved as revised.

Information Items:

- I. Approval of Graduate Faculty Appointments
 - Mr. Dustin Summey, Leadership Studies, Initial Affiliate (three years)
 - Dr. Lawrence Mrozek, Leadership Studies, Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Haihong (Helen) Hu, Leadership Studies, Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Alex Fayman, EFIRM, Graduate Faculty (three years)

Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be Tuesday, October 18, 2011, X period, in Wingo 315.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jane Dahlenburg Secretary