GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES Tuesday, October 18, 2011

The Graduate Council meeting was conducted electronically October 18, 2011. The following members participated: Wes Alford, Ken Barnes, Gary Bunn, Jane Dahlenburg, Janet Filer, Ramesh Garimella, Bruce Hutchinson, Terry James, Jeff Jarvis, Paul Jensen, Mark McMurtrey, Elaine McNiece, Susan Moss-Logan, Rick Noyes, Sarah Orsborn, Vamsi Paruchuri, Brooks Pearson, Tammy Rogers, Joan Simon, Wayne Stengel, and Barbara Williams.

Action Items:

- I. Graduate Council Minutes from September 15, 2011 were approved unanimously.
- II. Subcommittee II (Dr. Ramesh Garimella, Chair) recommended approval of the department name change and M.S. degree name change from Speech-Language Pathology to Communication Sciences and Disorders.

The items were approved unanimously.

Information Items:

- I. Graduate Faculty Appointments:
 - Dr. Heather Hudson, Health Science, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Duston Morris, Health Science, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Danny Arrigo, Mathematics, Continued Graduate Faculty (eight years)
 - Dr. Jungeun Park, Mathematics, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)
 - Dr. Jason Martin, Mathematics, Initial Graduate Faculty (three years)

Announcements:

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be November 17, 2011, X period, in Wingo 315.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jane Dahlenburg Secretary