## **GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES**

September 16, 2010

The Graduate Council met on September 16, 2010. The following members participated: Clay Arnold, Tim Bisping, Jane Dahlenburg, Ramesh Garimella, Bruce Hutchinson, Jeff Jarvis, Paul Jensen, Erica Johnson, Patty Kohler-Evans, Mary McCullough, Elaine McNiece, Susan Moss-Logan, Rick Noyes, Vamsi Paruchuri, Wayne Stengel, Barbara Williams, and Jaime Zambrano. Members absent were Lisa Daniels, Terry James, and Joan Simon.

- I. Graduate Council Minutes from July 8, 2010 were approved unanimously.
- II. Dr. McNiece distributed the assignment of subcommittees (attached), read the Graduate Council charge and responsibilities, and provided a description of review process.
- III. Copies of a proposal from the Department of Writing to offer the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing were distributed. Subcommittee I will be responsible for the program review.
- IV. Dr. McNiece announced that the Faculty Senate has requested a report summarizing the Graduate Council activities for 2009-10. Dr. McNiece will prepare a draft of the report for review by Subcommittee II to be considered by the Council at the October meeting.
- V. Dr. McNiece encouraged Council members to participate in the Strategic Planning process and to review documents being proposed by the Strategic Planning and Resources Council (SPARC) considering whether the perspectives of graduate programs, graduate students, and graduate faculty are sufficiently represented and supported. The task force for modifying the Graduate School Statement of Purpose will propose changes consistent with the SPARC statements. Dr. Joan Simon will continue to chair the task force for submission to Subcommittee III for review.
- VI. Recipients of the 2010 Robert M. McLauchlin Graduate Scholarships were announced. James Hopper (PhD student in School Psychology) and David Tipton (DPT students) will be honored at the UCA Foundation Scholarship reception and will receive a plaque recognizing the honor. Dr. McNiece thanks selection committee members, Dr. Tim Atkinson, Dr. Terry James, and Dr. Susan Moss-Logan.
- VII. Dr. Jane Dahlenburg was elected secretary for the Graduate Council for 2010-11.

## Information Items:

- I. Prefix changed from WRTG 5310 to LING 5310 Linguistics for Educators
- II. Approval of Graduate Faculty Appointments
  - Dr. Cathy Acre, Occupational Therapy, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Alexander Chen, Marketing/Management, Initial (three years)
  - Dr. Jud Copeland, Leadership Studies, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Ellen Edmonds, Health Sciences, Continued (three years)
  - Dr. Lawrence Huff, Mathematics, Continued (three years)
  - Dr. Stephanie Huffman, Leadership Studies, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Tiffany Huitt, Physical Therapy, Initial (three years)
  - Dr. Terry James, Leadership Studies, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Tina Mankey, Occupational Therapy, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Letha Mosley, Occupational Therapy, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Diana Pounder, Leadership Studies, Initial (eight years)
  - Dr. Johnny Purvis, Leadership Studies, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Wendy Rickman, Leadership Studies, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Marc Willey, Occupational Therapy, Continued (eight years)
  - Dr. Jaime Zambrano, World Languages, Continued (eight years)

The next meeting for the Graduate Council will be **Tuesday**, Oct 19, 2010, X period, Wingo 315.

Respectfully submitted, Jane Dahlenburg, Secretary