## **GRADUATE COUNCIL MINUTES**

September 18, 2008

The Graduate Council met September 18, 2008 at 1:30 p.m in Wingo 315. The following members were present: Clay Arnold, Tammy Benson, Tim Bisping, Jane Dahlenburg, Lisa Daniels, James Fowler, Cori French, Ramesh Garimellla, Bruce Hutchinson, Jeff Jarvis, Weijiu Liu, Julie Meaux, Mike Rubach, Joan Simon, and Elaine McNiece. Terry James, Rick Noyes, Randall Pouwells, and David Skotko were absent.

- I. Introduction of Council Members.
- II. Approval of Graduate Council Minutes from July 10, 2008.

Rubach moved for approval, Meaux seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

III. Election of 2008-2009 Graduate Council Secretary.

Arnold moved and Rubach seconded a motion to elect the new member from the College of Business as Secretary. Motion passed unanimously.

IV. Election of Student Member for Graduate Council.

Benson moved and Meaux seconded to appoint Jennifer Gill, MAT graduate assistant, to serve as a student member of the Council. Motion passed unanimously.

## V. Announcements

- Dr. McNiece made the following announcements:
  - a. Subcommittee I will continue reviewing the departmental/college plans for approval of graduate faculty. The goal is to have all plans approved by the Graduate Council by the end of fall semester with a schedule in Spring 2009 for approval of new and current graduate faculty.
  - b. Fall headcount and 2007-08 graduate productivity numbers look good. Reports will be distributed with the minutes of this meeting
  - c. Because Fall Break occurs on the regularly scheduled date for Graduate Council, the October meeting will be TUESDAY, October 21, 2008, X-period, in Wingo 315.

## VI Recognized McLauchlin Scholarship Recipients

Erin Casey and Erica Cason were introduced and presented plaques as recipients of the 2008-09 Robert McLauchlin Graduate Scholarships.