A Resolution to Rename and Restructure the General Education Council Pursuant to Changes in the UCA Core Curriculum

Whereas the general education program of UCA has been substantially changed and renamed the UCA Core;

Whereas the structure of the UCA Core will result in all colleges and departments offering potential UCA Core courses once the upper division requirements are fully implemented;

Whereas responsibility for implementation and assessment of the UCA Core belongs to all undergraduate faculty members, departments, and colleges;

Be it hereby resolved that the General Education Council shall be renamed the UCA Core Council;

Be it further resolved that the membership of the UCA Core Council shall be changed to include all faculty groups by academic college and representation of unaffiliated faculty and to require election of the membership by those they represent:

UCA Core Council Membership:

- 1. One department chair is elected from each of the six academic colleges.
- 2. Two faculty members elected from each academic college with at least one holding the rank of assistant professor or above;
- 3. One faculty member elected by the University College faculty.
- 4. One faculty member elected by Honors College faculty.
- 5. Two students are invited to serve as members of the council, one representing the Student Government Association and one representing Alpha Chi.

The Director of UCA Core serves as chair of the Council. The council elects its secretary each academic year. The associate provost for instructional support, university director of assessment, director of the library and the registrar are ex-officio, non-voting members. Each council member serves three years on a rotating basis. Students serve one-year terms.

Please see Attachment 1 for an example of a transition to the new UCA Core Council while maintaining continuity from the membership of the current General Education Council.

Attachment 1

Transition Plan Suggestion

During the initial implementation the terms of the representatives will be set as follows to maintain continuity from one year to the next. After this initial period the terms will be for three years and each academic college will have one member whose term will expire in any given year.

Current college representatives will finish their existing term and Lisa Daniels and Charles Watson will be asked to continue for ED and NSM until 2016. (Currently, ED term expires in 2013; LA and BUS terms expire in 2014; HBS, FAC, and NSM terms expire in 2015.)

Lisa Daniels	ED	2016
Jeff Allender	LA	2014
Joe McGarrity	BUS	2014
Susan Gatto	HBS	2015
Carey Smitherman	FAC	2015
Charles Watson	NSM	2016

Second College Rep to be elected in Fall 2013 with initial terms expiring in listed year.

ED 2015 LA 2016 BUS 2016 HBS 2014 FAC 2014 NSM 2015

College Chairs to be elected in Fall 2013 with initial terms expiring in the listed year.

ED 2014 LA 2015 BUS 2015 HBS 2016 FAC 2016 NSM 2014

Unaffiliated Reps to be elected in Fall 2013 with initial terms expiring in the listed year.

University College Representative 2015 Honors College Representative 2016