UCA *Faculty Handbook* Committee Minutes – September 20, 2013

The committee convened at 8:00 in the Provost's conference room, with Francie Bolter, Kevin Browne (Chair), Graham Gillis, Diane Newton, John Parrack, Michael Rubach, Steve Runge, Mike Scoles, and Charles Watson in attendance. Wendy Rickman represented the College of Ecucation in Janet Filer's absence. A representative from Natural Sciences and Mathematics has not been elected.

Bolter moved for approval of the September 13 minutes, with a second provided by Parrack. Parrack suggested that the minutes reflect Browne's reminder that there are no provisions for representatives attending on behalf of absent members to vote. With this change, the motion passed unanimously.

The committee discussed modifications to the following sections of Chapter 3:

Section IV.B.1, regarding tenure-track faculty who have not completed their terminal degree at the time of initial appointment.

Section VI.A.3, regarding requests for extension of probationary period.

Section X.A.2, regarding notification of non-renewal of appointments.

The meeting adjourned at approximately 9:30. For the remainder of the semester, meetings will be held at 8:00 on Fridays.