Faculty Senate College Elections

Voting for College Senator positions will be held **Friday, April 6th from 8:00 am to 4:15 pm in each college dean's office**. Absentee ballots for college elections may be cast in each college dean's office beginning Wednesday, April 4th.

The two continuing College Senators are the election officials for their respective college. The President of the Faculty Senate will send out a call for nominations with information regarding which College Senators to contact should one be interested in running for the college position. The College Senators will make sure all interested parties are listed on their respective ballot and then will print the ballots for each college. College Senators will then oversee the voting within their dean's office.

On Friday, April 6th after 4:15 pm, the College Senators will collect the votes, tally them, and then notify the Faculty Senate President as to the winner. A simple majority of those voting shall be required for election to the position. In the event that no one person receives a majority vote, a run-off between the two highest vote-receivers shall be held on the following Friday. The President of the Faculty Senate then informs the new Senator of his or her election to the Senate.

There are some things to remember during the College Senator elections:

- 1. The Dean's office may send out an email constructed by and at the request of the College Senators reminding faculty of the election; however, they should NOT send out anything on their own or regarding election results.
- 2. No chair may run for the Faculty Senate this year because we have the maximum of 2 already.
- 3. No more than 2 Senators may be from the same department. Thus, no faculty member from the Department of Early Childhood and Special Education may be elected since there are two continuing Senators from that department.
- 4. No administrator at the assistant dean or above level shall be eligible.
- 5. No person shall serve more than 2 successive full terms.

Remind your colleagues that new terms shall begin on May 1, 2012. Their first meeting will actually be May 1, 2012 at 11:00 am in Wingo 315. They should be available for meetings during the 12:15 pm TR class time (and may even want to consider not a scheduling a class at the 2:40 pm TR class time).

Senators who are responsible for their college's elections are as follows:

College of Business Administration

Don Bradley (2013) Jim Downey (2014)

College of Liberal Arts

Jay Ruud (2013) Clayton Crockett (2014)

College of Education

Janet Filer (2013) Shoudong Feng (2014)

College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics

Ben Rowley (2013) Charles Watson (2014)

College of Fine Arts & Communications

Kevin Browne (2013) Lanette Grate (2014)

College of Health & Behavioral Sciences

Lisa Ray (2013) Melissa Shock (2014)

Last year, John Parrack, as Past President of the Faculty Senate and Chair of the Faculty Handbook Committee, provided the following to clarify the casting of provisional ballots for any voters who are not on the voter roll:

In order to vote in a Faculty Senate election, an individual must:

- 1. Have faculty appointment and hold the rank of instructor, lecturer, assistant professor, associate professor or professor; or
- 2. Be a full-time employee of the university with teaching as a required responsibility of his/her employment.

If an individual is not on the current voter roll, he or she may cast a provisional ballot by signing the back of the ballot and indicating the provisional vote at the end of the voter roll. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee will decide the validity of all provisional ballots.