UCA Faculty Development Grant Committee Thursday, December 03, 2015 Meeting Minutes

#### Call to Order

The FDG Committee was called to order at 1:45 p.m. on Thursday, December 03, 2015 in the CTE Conference Room/TORW319 by Committee Chair Dr. Amy Hawkins.

#### Roll Call

Members Present: Jesse Butler, Amy Hawkins, Helen Hu, Jennifer Moore, Kari Naylor

Members Absent: Riva Brown, Susan Myers, Carl Olds, Kathy Steelman (Brown, Myers, and Steelman each provided written feedback prior to the meeting.)

#### Minutes

### Faculty Development Grant Application Proposals Review:

There were seven FDG applications submitted for committee review by the November 30th deadline.

The following applications were reviewed by all committee members present during the meeting; motions were made and seconded for approvals.

# FDG Application Approvals

## Debbie Daily

Department: Teaching and Learning

Grant Title: Preparing Advanced Practicum Teachers in the Gifted Licensure Program to Teach Engineering Practices in STEMulate

Engineering Academy Amount Granted: \$250

### Denise Demers, Betty Hubbard, Heather Hudson, Duston Morris

Department: Health Sciences

Grant Title: Coaching Healthy Behaviors Training Course

Amount Granted: \$2,000 (\$500 each)

## Nykela Jackson & Sunny Styles-Foster Sunny

Department: Teaching & Learning

Grant Title: High Intensity Teacher Training: Powerlifting Our

Pedagogy

Amount Granted: \$500 (\$250 each)

#### Sandy Longhorn

Department: Writing

Grant Title: Assoc. of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP) Annual

conference

Amount Granted: \$500

### Joe McGarrity

Department: Economics

Grant Title: American Economic Association Continuing Education

Amount Granted: \$200

#### Michael Mills & Jason Trumble

Department: Teaching & Learning

Grant Title: Facilitating Student Learning through Mobile

Technology

Amount Granted: \$1,000 (\$500 each)

#### John Vanderslice

Department: Writing

Grant Title: Hands on Festival

Amount Granted: \$500

#### FDG Disapprovals:

None

## Closing Comments:

The committee will meet again on the following dates:

February 09, 2016 @ X-period March 17, 2016 @ X-period

#### Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 2:15 p.m. by Committee Chair: Dr. Amy Hawkins