The Board of Trustees of the Arkansas State Teachers College met in the office of the Chairman of the Board, the State Commissioner of Education, State Capitol, Little Rock, Arkansas, at 10:00 a.m., on Friday, February 21, 1941. The following members were present and voting: Jones, Compere, Page, Larey, Humphries, Smith; Absent: Evans. President H. L. McAlister, Dr. H. L. Minton, and Mr. Gilbert Grant were also present.

The minutes of the meeting, December 3, 1940, were read and approved (Humphries, Larey).

After a discussion of the retirement bill now pending in the Legislature, Chairman Jones suggested that an amendment to the present bill be submitted, authorizing state supported colleges to participate.

Motion by Humphries, seconded by Compere that the Board of Trustees of the Arkansas State Teachers College approve the plan and request that the present bill be amended so as to authorize the Arkansas State Teachers College to take advantage of the retirement act.

Motion carried.

Motion by Humphries, seconded by Larey, that: Dean A. J. Meadors be designated as Acting President of the Arkansas State Teachers College for the balance of this fiscal year, and that he is hereby authorized and empowered to sign all legal papers, or documents, as such Acting President, in the absence of President McAlister, and that President McAlister shall continue to devote as much time in an advisory capacity as is possible.

Motion carried.

Motion by Smith, seconded by Compere, that the regular quarterly meeting of the Board of Trustees which would come on March 4, 1941, be postponed, subject to the call of the Chairman.

The Board adjourned subject to the call of the Chairman.

Chairman

Alecan Strong Street

ACT 128, of the acts of 1941 of the General Assembly of Arkansas abolished the previous Board of Trustees, effective April 1, 1941, and granted the governor authority to appoint a new board, composed of seven members. Governor Homer Adkins appointed the following members:

J. K. Bateman, Clarendon, term of 2 years.

Mrs. George F. McKinney, Fayetteville, term of 2 years.

Mr. Bruce Kendall, DeWitt, term of 4 years.

R. A. Cox, N. Little Rock, term of 4 years.

George Bachelor, Conway, term of 6 years.

Dr. A. M. Elton, Newport, term of 6 years.

Chas. Maze, Clarksville, term of 6 years.