The Board of Trustees of State College of Arkansas convened in regular meeting on Wednesday, June 26, 1974, at one-thirty o'clock in the afternoon on the campus in Conway, Arkansas, with the following officers and members of the Board present, to-wit:

Chairman: Vice Chairman: James W. Ahlf Wm. C. Norman

Secretary:

Mrs. Charles E. Hammans

Bill Johnson

Dr. J. Albert Johnson Charles R. Dixon

and with the following absent, to-wit:

Dr. John W. Sneed, Jr.

constituting a quorum of said Board, at which meeting the following business was transacted, to-wit:

Upon motion made by Mr. Norman and seconded by Mrs. Hammans the minutes of the last meeting of the Board of Trustees were approved by unanimous vote.

Dr. Johnson made a motion that the Board go into executive session to consider personnel. A second to this motion was made by Mr. Dixon and passed by unanimous vote.

Upon the recommendation of President Snow the following appointments and resignations were approved upon motion made by Mrs. Hammans, seconded by Dr. Johnson and passed by unanimous vote:

Appointments:

- 1. Marion Johnson, Instructor of Civil Defense, effective July 1, 1974 through September 30, 1974 @ \$1002.00 per month.
- Daniel Cicirello, Instructor of Civil Defense, effective July 1, 1974 through September 30, 1974 @ \$866.00 per month.
- 3. R. L. Holt, Director of Civil Defense, effective July 1, 1974 through September 30, 1974 @ \$1160.00 per month.
- 4. Robert Burks, Application Programmer I, effective June 3, 1974 @ \$679.00 per month.
- 5. John Corcoran, Assistant Professor of History, effective September 1, 1974 @ \$1300.00 per month.
- Bobby Gene Deal, Security Officer, effective June 13, 1974 @ \$460.00 per month.
- 7. Frank Marinelli, Assistant Professor of Psychology, effective September 1, 1974 @ \$1300.00 per month--salary will be at the rate of \$1355.55 per month if Ph.D. Degree is earned by September 1, 1974.
- 8. Glenda Hill, Instructor of Mathematics, effective September 1, $1974\ @\ 1000.00 per month.
- 9. Wydean Cochran, Resident Hall Supervisor, effective August 18, 1974 through May 17, 1975 @ \$360.00 per month plus apartment, utilities, and food when eaten in college cafeteria.

Resignations:

- 1. June Saunders, Resident Hall Supervisor, effective July 5, 1974.
- 2. Kathy Yarbrough, Resident Hall Supervisor, effective May 31, 1974.

Motion was made by Dr. Johnson, seconded by Mr. Dixon and passed by unanimous vote declaring the Board in open session.

In open meeting, appointments and resignations as recommended by President Snow were approved upon motion made by Mrs. Hammans, seconded by Dr. Johnson and passed by unanimous vote.

Mr. Norman made a motion that the following conditions regarding visitation in lounges of residence halls as recommended by Mr. Koon, Vice President for Student Affairs, and President Snow be approved. A second to this motion was made by Mr. Dixon and passed by unanimous vote:

- 1. Visitation in women's residence halls by men students and in men's residence halls by women students will be limited to the lobby and lounge area, only.
- Entrance and exit to the women's halls by men visitors and to the men's halls by women visitors will be made by the front or main entrance, only.
- 3. Men visitors to women's residence hall lounges and women visitors to men's residence hall lounges must be accompanied by a resident of the hall visited.
- 4. Visiting hours will be limited as follows:
 - a. Men may visit in the lobby or lounge of a woman's hall from 12:00 noon to 11:15 p.m.
 - b. Women may visit in the lobby or lounge of a man's residence hall from 6:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

The difference in the above schedule reflects the difference in number of residence hall personnel available.

- 5. A resident hall staff member will be on duty in the lobby and lounge area at all times during visiting hours.
- 6. The head resident will make periodic visits to the lobby or lounge area during visiting hours.

Mr. Norman made a motion that a Board Selection Committee composed of Mr. Ahlf, Mrs. Hammans, and Mr. Dixon be assigned the responsibility of naming a Presidential Search Committee. Motion further stipulated that the Presidential Search Committee be composed of no fewer than five nor more than seven persons and membership on the Board Selection Committee does not preclude being named to serve on the Presidential Search Committee. A second to this motion was made by Dr. Johnson and passed by unanimous vote.

Mr. Norman made a motion that the low base bid in the amount of \$2,599,200 as submitted by Nabholz Construction Corporation for the construction of an Education Center be accepted provided the additional funds necessary are appropriated by the General Assembly or transferred by the Legislature from the Health Science Center new money. A second to this motion was made by Mr. Dixon and passed by unanimous vote.

Motion was made by Dr. Johnson that the low base bid in the amount of \$54,970 as submitted by Nabholz Construction Corporation for the construction of a press box be accepted and that the College borrow the additional funds necessary to supplement the monies on hand. A second to this motion was made by Mr. Johnson and passed by unanimous vote.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned.

ames W. Ahlf, Chairman

Mrs. Charles E. Hammans, Secretary