The Board of Trustees of the University of Central Arkansas convened in regular meeting Monday night, February 15, 1988, at seven o'clock in the Board Room of the Administration Building, with the following officers and members present, to-wit:

> Chairman Vice Chairman:

Mr. James W. Ahlf Mr. Joe M. White

Secretary:

Dr. Harold H. Chakales

Mr. Herby Branscum Mr. Ben F. Burton Judge Henry L. Jones

Mrs. Elaine Goode

and with the following absent, to-wit:

None

constituting a quorum of said Board, at which meeting the following business was transacted, to-wit:

Minutes of the last meeting, February 8, 1988, were approved as circulated on motion by Mr. Jones, seconded by Dr. Chakales, and passed.

Executive session was declared on motion by Mr. White, seconded by Mr. Branscum, and passed, to continue deliberations on the candidates for the position of President.

In executive session, Dr. Chakales nominated Dr. Winfred Thompson for the position of President of the University of Central Arkansas, for a three year contract on the maximum line allowance. The nomination was seconded by Mr. White, and passed unanimously.

Open session was declared on motion by Mr. Branscum, seconded by Mr. Burton, and passed.

In open session, Dr. Chakales, as secretary of the Board, nominated Dr. Winfred Thompson for the position of President of the University of Central Arkansas, for a three year contract at the maximum line allowance. The nomination was seconded by Mr. White, and passed unanimously.

By mutual agreement, the Board will meet on Friday, February 19, 1988, at 4 p.m. for a press conference with Dr. Thompson and his family to be held in the Health Science Center auditorium. Immediately after the press conference, the Board will convene in regular meeting in Room 220 of the Burdick Building. Dinner will be served in the Fireplace Room of East Commons at 6 p.m. to the Board, their spouses, and the Thompson family.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the meeting was adjourned on motion by Mr. Branscum, seconded by Mr. Burton, and passed.

Mr. James W. Ahlf Chairman

Dr. Harold Chakales Secretary