Minority Freshmen Honored for Achievement

One hundred freshmen students were honored during the Minority Freshman Academic Achiever Reception on Thursday, March 14 by the Office of Multicultural Student Services. Twenty-two students attended the event to receive certificates and trophies to acknowledge their success.

Students honored earned a 3.0 or higher cumulative grade point average on at least 12 graduation hours during the fall 2012 semester.

UCA President Tom Courtway, several department chairs, and even parents from El Dorado, Ark., attended the event. Keynote speakers for the event were sophomores Kenya Ray, Juan Reyes Vasquez and Richard “Deante” Gaskins, who were honored at the 2012 reception.

“This is the 5th year of the program which has the purpose of celebrating the first semester accomplishments of our incoming freshmen in hopes that they will continue their efforts to do well academically at UCA and be retained until graduation,” commented Angela Jackson, director of the Office of Multicultural Student Services.

Freshmen honorees were: Veena Akama-Makia, Karina Angeles, Samantha Anima, Jessica Archer, Jordan Barajas, Vinson Birmingham, Martrice Bolden, Aliyah Brown, Sharon Brown, Bre’Achsa Brunson, Krizia Buck, Tikira Burgess, Savannah Carter, Yesenia Chavez, Ashton Cheatham, Nancy Cheng, Kimberly Colula, Jasmine Credit, Shala David, Lisa Deleon, Taer Du, William Edwards, Prince Ene, George Esiamah, Jaleesa Farris, Erica Franklin, Juan Garcia, Gabriel Gates, Pauline Godoy, Jasmine Gonzalez, Jonathan Gonzalez, Santiago Gonzalez, Joshua Gordon, Shana Gordon, Emanuel Grady, Wesley Green, Kaleb Hadley, Jerryll Hall, Kellye Hansberry, Curtis Harris, India Harris, Jorge Hernandez, Desstoni Holman, Magdalene James, Erica Johnson, Asha Jones, Evan Jones, Nathan Jones, Jessica Koeman, Yessy Lemus, Devin Lephere, Michelle Maestas, Jillian Massiet, Kevin Maya, Victoria Mays, Sydne McDade, Christian McDaniel, Natalie Mikles, Shakriea Moore, Valencia Moore, Andy Nguyen, Corbin Noel, Adrienne Orozco, Corey Parks, Jordan Pfaff, Raynin Phomakay, Aja Poole, Cameron Pugh, Raven Purifoy, Carlos Quiroz, Brittany Randle, Zuleima Reyes, Jocelyn Robles, Hayley Romero, Cassandra Rosas, Anjelica Ross, Andrew San Juan, Georgette Sandoval, Jordan Santana, John Santiago, Aisha Shirley, Desmond Smith, De Londra Stanley, Cynthia Tawiah, Denesha Taylor, Jesus Torres, Devinne Tribble, Eric Tucker, Vu-Victor Van, Adam Vasquez, Leonzo Vazquez, Kevin Vorabout, Aum’arie Wallace, Shonqualla West, Jarod Wickliffe, Dillion Winfrey, Ricky Wyatt, See Yang, Candace Young, and Carmen Youngblood.minority reception