Events and Exhibitions

Visiting Artists

Spring 2017

Magdalena Solé

Public Lecture: Tuesday, February 7, 2017, 1:40-2:30 PM, McCastlain Hall 143

Holly Laws

Public Lecture: Thursday, February 16, 2017, 1:40-2:30 PM, McCastlain Hall 143

Howard Risatti

Public Lecture: Thursday, February 23, 2017, 5:00 PM, McCastlain Hall 143

 

Exhibitions

Spring 2017

Baum Gallery

Ana England copy

Tripletta: A Show of Miniature Works by 46 Artists

On View: Thursday, January 26, 2017-Thursday, February 22, 2017

Reception: Thursday, January 26, 4:00-7:00 PM

(pictured above, work by Ana England)


01_KA_DEL_L1000584

Magdalena Solé: Mississippi Delta Series

On View: Thursday, January 26, 2017-Thursday, February 22, 2017

Reception: Thursday, January 26, 4:00-6:00 PM

Public Lecture: Tuesday, February 7, 1:40 PM, McCastlain Hall 143


LawsHR#1
Holly Laws: Bellwether

On View: Thursday, January 26, 2017-Thursday, February 22, 2017

Reception: Thursday, January 26, 4:00-6:00 PM

Public Lecture: Thursday, February 16, 1:40 PM, McCastlain Hall 143


2017 competitive 2
Annual Student Art Competitive 2017

Campus-wide juried exhibition of works in all media, sponsored by the UCA Department of Art

Guest Juror: Dr. Howard Risatti, professor emeritus of art history at Virginia Commonwealth University

On View: Thursday, March 2, 2017-Thursday, March 16, 2017

Reception: Thursday, March 2, 4:00-6:00 PM

Entries due: Thursday, February 23, 7:00 PM

Entry Form: Student Competitive Entry Form

Public Lecture by Dr. Risatti: February 23rd, 5:00 PM, McCastlain Hall 143


BA/BFA Juried Senior Art Exhibition

Works in all media by candidates for graduation in the UCA Department of Art

On View: Thursday, April 6, 2017-Thursday, April 27, 2017

Receptions: Thursday, April 6, 4:00-6:00 PM and Sunday, April 9, 2:00-4:00 PM

Black Box Student Gallery
Trump’s America

Expectations and reactions to Donald Trump’s rise to power..

On View: Thursday, February 9, 2017- Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Reception: Thursday, February 9, 2017, 6:00 PM

Submissions Due: Monday, February 6, 2017 at 4:00 PM


Color of Emotion

The use of colors to define a piece as an interpretation, reflection, dreams, passions, or spirituality.

On View: Monday, April 3, 2017- Monday, April 10, 2017

Reception: Monday, April 3, 2017, 6:00 PM

Submissions Due: Monday, March 27, 2017 at 4:00 PM


Works from Spring 2017 Photography Classes

Works from Professor Donna Pinckley’s Photo I, Photo II and Advanced Studio classes

On View: Thursday, April 20, 2017- Thursday, April 27, 2017

Reception: Thursday, April 20, 2017, 6:00 PM

Not Taking Submissions

 

Special Events

Spring 2017

27th Annual Arkansas College Art History Symposium

March 9-10, 2017, University of Arkansas at Little Rock, Fine Arts Building 161.

Keynote Speaker: Dr. Craig Zabel of Pennsylvania State University.

For more information see: Art History Symposium.

Japanese American Internment Camp Art

February 20-24, 2017, Fireplace Room, McCastlain Hall.

Selections of artwork from the Gould-Vogel collection of Japanese-American Internment art and artifacts (on loan from the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies), will be on view to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the signing of Executive Order 9066, which resulted in the incarceration of 120,000 Japanese Americans during WWII.

 

Past Events

Click here for list of Past Events